“Yesterday, I looked at a picture of us, and missed the way your arms felt around me, the way your breath tickled my neck when you hugged me from behind, secrets kissed against the curve of my shoulder.

Today, I realized that I don’t miss you.  I miss being happy, and you are simple a face in all my good memories.  You have left a hole where my heart was, though it is not you I miss, but my heart.

Tomorrow, I will rise from bed and my hands will not shake when I realize you are not here.  There is a scar tissue on my chest, but I will not pick at it.  Instead it will heal, and some days it may still bleed, but at least I will know that I have reclaimed the hollow in my chest where my heart once was.”

m.l.

Leave a Reply

