“I found myself again one morning when I opened the window and smelled the fresh daisies growing in my backyard.  I ran outside and danced under the sunshine and nothing had felt that warm in a long time.  The rays on my skin and the grass beneath my feet, nothing had been that normal in so long.  I found myself in the novels I read and the country music I played while riding shotgun.  I found myself while walking along the beach and witnessing the sun setting down.  It was beautiful and when the sun rose the next day, I found myself while trying to tie my curtains up.  I made myself some hot tea and thought to myself, ‘I’m gonna be alright.’ Because I found myself while pacing down the open roads at midnight.  And we laughed under the stars and I remember that the world is much bigger than I am and there is so much more out there than what we had.  I found myself while tracing back my footprints along the sand and listening to the waters rush along the creeks.  I found the warmth of living and breathing after all the tragic.  I found the person I was before I realized that bruises weren’t just physical, they were internal too.  But I found that person again.  I found the person who still believes that life is good.”

~Ming D. Liu

Leave a Reply

